What are the different types of DNS records and what do they mean?

  1. A (Address) Record:
    Maps a domain name to an IP address.
  2. MX (Mail Exchange) Record:
    Identifies the mail server responsible for accepting email messages on behalf of a domain name.
  3. CNAME (Canonical Name) Record:
    Creates an alias for an existing domain name and points it to the canonical domain name.
  4. TXT (Text) Record:
    Allows the domain owner to store arbitrary text data in the DNS record.
  5. NS (Name Server) Record:
    Specifies the authoritative name servers for a domain.
  6. AAAA (IPv6 Address) Record:
    Maps a domain name to an IPv6 address.
  7. SRV (Service) Record:
    Defines the location of a specific service provided by a domain.
  8. PTR (Pointer) Record:
    Maps an IP address to a domain name, commonly used for reverse DNS lookups.